An appetite for excellence

Welcome to the National Seafood Awards 2018, Ireland’s premier awards programme celebrating distinction in the Irish seafood industry.

These awards recognise both businesses and individuals who have gone above and beyond in their respective fields, establishing themselves as industry leaders by virtue of their exceptional vision, leadership and innovation.

Hosted by Bord Iascaigh Mhara, the awards will be presented in four categories: Innovation, Sustainability, Competitiveness and Skills. A total of twelve winners will be selected to receive awards in the fields of Processing, Fishing and Aquaculture, to include Best in Innovation, Best in Sustainability, and Enterprise of the Year for each, as well as the distinct honours of Best Seafood Retailer of the Year, Student of the Year and the distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award.

Stay up-to-date at, and be sure to register via email for updates, deadlines, shortlist and special announcements and more.

Call for entries

The National Seafood Awards 2018 is Ireland’s biennial celebration of the people, projects, partnerships and businesses committed to outstanding work in the Irish seafood industry. From innovation and sustainability to competitiveness and skills, winners are recognised for their hard work and achievements in supporting this vibrant, thriving industry.

Winners will be announced on 27 November 2018 at a gala dinner awards ceremony. For your chance to be considered, be sure to submit your entry by 14 September 2018.

Who can participate?

Any Irish-based seafood professional, from the fishermen to fish farmers, processors to retailers working in Ireland’s seafood sector may enter the National Seafood Awards 2018. If you have the ideas, the vision and/or the solutions for the sustainable, competitive and innovative management and development of our seafood business, we want to hear from you.

Registration is the first step for entry, so be sure to sign up to receive regular updates.

About the 2018 awards ceremony

The National Seafood Awards 2018 is a leading awards programme that recognises and celebrates excellence in the seafood industry in the categories of Skills, Sustainability, Innovation and Competitiveness.

Winners of these categories will be announced at a gala dinner event for 180 invited guests, held on Tuesday 27 November 2018 at Dublin’s iconic Christ Church Cathedral. The capital city’s oldest building, Christ Church has been a place of pilgrimage for nearly 1,000 years and is world-renowned for its beauty and architecture.

Awards timeline

Call for Entries
10 August 2018

Deadline for Entries
14 September 2018

Shortlisted Candidates Informed
10 October 2018

National Seafood Awards Ceremony
27 November 2018